>Worry…

>Melissa and I are alike in some ways and in others we are different. We both like a plan and aren’t big on surprises. However, I might take it to the extreme.

Melissa is really chill and laid back. If I just didn’t show up after work one day she would think I was working late (which I never do and would definitely always call) and probably wouldn’t try to call call until it was bed time.

I on the other am not so relaxed. I already worry about Mel and all the changes her body has to go through to create life (BTW – she’s in close to perfect health and yet I worry…). I always like to be ahead of the game, every worst case scenario has already run through my head in most things. Why can’t I learn that the worst case isnt typically the actual case?

I tell you all of that to tell you this. I’m worried about worrying. Will I ever not be in a state of worry again? I’m already thinking and worrying about the birth, I worry about the baby’s safety. I’m worrying about leaving her with a stranger when we have to go back to work. OMG, and when her friends start driving…I worry about her getting in the car with them.

My friend Wes has told me more than once – “Darcie, worrying is like sitting in a rocking chair – lots moving around, but its getting you no where!”…am I capable of not worrying?

For those of you who are “like totally layed back”, I don’t even want to hear it. I don’t get how you can be so chill anymore than you get how I can be such a worrywart!

5 thoughts on “>Worry…

  1. >I'm one of the biggest worriers in the world, but I've still always liked the quote "Today is the tomorrow we worried about yesterday, and all is well." Or Charlie Brown, that infinite fount of wisdom: "I've developed a new philosophy. I only dread one day at a time." So darl', try the whole one-day-at-a-time thing. I know, it's tough, but sometimes it actually works. And it allows you to worry – but only about certain immediate things.=]

  2. >For some of us, being 'totally laid back' is an act. The worry never goes away, you just have to learn to put it aside and not let it take control of your life.I tell myself throughout the day that the kids are fine and I do not need to check on them every hour. Doesn't mean I don't want to, just that I won't. (one of mine is an adult now) You can learn to keep it in check, it just takes some effort. If it does get out of control, there are some great meds out there that will help alot.Hang in there

  3. >We have completely different kinds of anxiety. I tend to worry more about myself than others (How selfish am I??? lol)I highly recommend meditation and yoga. I'm way less neurotic. The thought of an airplane no longer sends me into hysterics. Plus, xanax helps:)

  4. >Yeah, my only worry when it comes to myself (i.e. I die…) is how everyone else will feel and deal. I've always been a worrier…I'm not sure it's fixable…my hope is to not go CRAZY once the baby arrives…(padded room, chastity belt, attach her to my hip…kinda crazy)

  5. >Oh honey, a certain amount of worrying comes with the territory of being a Mom. Your life is about to change so drastically and while you always worry about your child to a certain extent, some of it will be replaced by the most overwhelming feelings of love and joy for this beautiful little being that will just consume your lives. You will get through it without going crazy I promise! Sit down, buckle up and get ready for the ride. If you ever need to talk just know that you've got people around you that are more than happy to listen and help you through it. šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

